The Desert Rose Band was formed in 1985 with primary songwriter Chris Hillman (formerly of The Byrds and Flying Burrito Brothers) on lead vocals , guitar, and mandolin. Other members, culled mainly from Southern California session players, included banjoist/guitarist Herb Pedersen, and guitarist John Jorgenson. Formed in 1985, the Desert Rose Band’s self-titled debut album immediately established them as a group who were fiercely loyal to country music but not afraid to make it their own with a fusion of bluegrass and California country rock.  Coming to Joe Val is their acoustic lineup (sans electric guitars and drummers).

From the outset, The Desert Rose Band stayed at the top of the country charts with a string of hit songs beginning with the Johnnie & Jack cover “Ashes of Love.”  With collaborator Steve Hill, Chris Hillman penned the group’s smash hits, “Love Reunited,” Summer Wind,” “One Step Forward, “I Still Believe in You,” and “Start All Over Again.”  Other hits included   “He’s Back and I’m Blue (written by Michael Woody) and the John Hiatt cover, “She Don’t Love Nobody.” They have won three Academy of Country Music Awards and has received several nominations from the Country Music Association and the Grammys.

Band Website